Skip to content

Spider-Man and Captain America Costumes Revealed! Oh dear.

January 13, 2011

Aaand I’m a little concerned. Via BleedingCool.com we get a look at Chris Evans as Captain America:

FMG Reaction: Not bad. I don’t mind the wings painted on the helmet. Actual wings would have looked silly. The design of the helmet itself is kind of strange. It flares out in the back like that, yes, reminiscent of WWII helmets, but something about it doesn’t jive with me. I dig the straps on the suit making the red and white stripes across his stomach there, that is clever design. That blue is bright, but I am sure it’ll look better on film. I also like the quilting texture instead of the comic version scales. I give it a B+. Onto Spidey.

FMG Reaction: Ugh. It’s… he’s emo.  This is cinching my earlier worries when I saw Andrew Garfield’s poofy hair. They’re going the dark route. Me, I didn’t think they gave Spidey enough one-liners when he was being played by Tobey, and now this…? *headdesk* Okay. Costume itself. Sigh. I… I got nothing. It looks wet. And dirty. And not nearly as good as Previous Spidey Costume. I mean… he’s got a nice body, it fits him great but-… I can’t-… I don’t even-… now I’m depressed.

What do you think?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 6:20 pm

    I agree… the new Spiderman costume makes me very depressed…

    • January 13, 2011 9:03 pm

      It was hard enough believing Peter sewed it himself the last time around, but at least they tried. I don’t know how they are going to explain how he made this madness.

  2. Chris permalink
    January 13, 2011 7:03 pm

    Captain America looks he has a boner… For PATRIOTISM.

    As for Spidey, well…

    Well…

    Oh, I’ll still watch the fuck out of it.

  3. January 13, 2011 8:37 pm

    I understand why they did what they did with the helmet/mask, it just doesn’t sit right with me. It’s not that I’m married to the idea of a cowl, I think it just evokes Dumb Donald a little too much for me. If it were me I would’ve gone with an eye mask and kept the helmet separate.

    That said I really like the rest of the outfit.

    As for spidey, the outfit, like the movie itself, gets a resounding meh.

  4. Encrazed Crafts permalink
    January 13, 2011 11:06 pm

    I think they are both…*okay.* I’m actually more bleh’d by the CA one, but then again that ‘super hero’ is full of bleh in the first place >.< He's like just above Captain Quark from Ratchet in Clank, to me at least.

    As for the Spidey, I'm more optimistic with this than the play/opera thing they have still planned for broadway, though at this point that seems more cursed than McBeth. No matter how bad this reboot can be, just think to Spiderman 3. Now THAT was some emo shenannygins. If it is somehow worse, then it will have revolved around the suck-o-meter and come right back to terribly awesome at that point.

Leave a comment