Skip to content

Super Bowl Ad Round Up

February 3, 2014

The only reason I watched the Super Bowl this year is that a friend tempted me out of the house with promises of pizza and wings. I have good friends.

Anyhow, the game was full of sports, but what I want to talk about today was the ads. Comparing them to years past, there are a couple notable differences. There’s a lack of offensive humor, a lot of patriotism, and they were overall pretty boring. Does this mean ad executives don’t know how to be funny without relying on offensive humor? I don’t know. But here’s my pick for the funniest commercial of the Super Bowl:

Funniest Ad: Radio Shack “The 80’s Called”

A lot of the humor this year relied on nostalgia and references (Full House Oikos Yougurt, Jerry Seinfeld, etc.). I also want to give an Honorable Mention to Toyota for their Muppets spot. Better than an awkward kiss between a nerd and a supermodel. Hey, speaking of GoDaddy, it almost claimed the most surprising ad for it’s depiction of a women quitting her job to pursue her passion for puppets. But one ad surprised me even more.

Most Surprising Ad: H&M “David Beckham”

Not only was there a lack of sexualized women in the ads this year, there was actually a sexualized man! It’s amazing to see an ad during the Super Bowl that is catered to all the women and gays in the audience that mainstream ads tend to forget about or ignore completely. The Super Bowl went even so far as to acknowledge that nerds are watching!

Nerdiest Ad: Squarespace “A Better Web Awaits”

More nerdy web references, from memes to duckface, and if you look in the background, you’ll even see watermarks over some people’s faces! It’s worth watching a few times to catch all the details.

Ad Most Likely To Piss Off Bigots: Tie! 

Cheerios “Gracie”

Coca-Cola “America the Beautiful”

Not only will these ads piss off people on the far right who hate the idea of interracial marriage and Americans speaking languages other than American, these are just really good ads. Coca-Cola is easily one of my favorites. It made me a little misty, in fact, but not as misty as this one:

Ad That Chopped The Most Onions: Microsoft “Empowering”

I just watched it again to find the video for this ad, and I’m not going to lie, I got choked up again.

A lot of ads featured a variety of celebrities, from John Turturro for GoDaddy to Tom Hiddleston’s Jaguar. Scarlett Johanssen for Soda Stream was a snoozefest of wasted potential. But this one?

Best Use of a Celebrity Endorsement: Honda “Honda Hugfest”

I hugged the person next to me, Mr. Willis.

And finally, this blog being what it is, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention this ad.

Most Feminist Ad: Intuit “Goldie Blox”

I feel the need to point out that this ad isn’t anti-pink, rather, it’s asking for more than pink. Goldie Blox won a huge competition put on by Intuit to win a Super Bowl ad. I only wish they would have shown the actual product a bit more!

Those are my favorites of the Super Bowl ads this year! I’m pretty sure the sportsball game that happened in between was pretty good, too.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 5, 2014 7:15 pm

    I did love this commercial a lot. And the doritos one.

Leave a Reply

