Skip to content

Emmy Om Nom Noms!

July 19, 2012

Believe it or not, I don’t watch a lot of TV. I obsess over the shows I love, sure, but the shows I actually watch are very few. But I’ll do my damnedest to give you my picks (in italics) for the upcoming Primetime Emmy Awards. If a category is missing, like all comedy series for instance, I haven’t seen any of the nominated parties in action, and thus have no opinion. And this is just the short, super brief list. I’ll be sure to watch more and give more opinions the closer to Emmy night we get! Make sure you leave your thoughts in the comments! The 64th annual Primetime Emmy Awards will air Sept. 23rd.

Best Drama Series
“Boardwalk Empire”
“Breaking Bad”
“Downton Abbey”
“Game of Thrones”
“Homeland”
“Mad Men” (For the past four years, Mad Men has won best drama series. And as awesome as all the shows up against it are, the last season of Mad Men is, in my opinion, the best ever. I’m picking it for fifth consecutive Emmy winner.)

Best Actress in a Drama Series
Kathy Bates, “Harry’s Law” (This is actually my mom’s pick.)
Glenn Close, “Damages”
Claire Danes, “Homeland”
Michelle Dockery, “Downton Abbey”
Julianna Margulies, “The Good Wife”
Elisabeth Moss, “Mad Men”

Supporting Actor, Drama Series
Aaron Paul, “Breaking Bad”
Giancarlo Esposito, “Breaking Bad”
Brendan Coyle, “Downton Abbey”
Peter Dinklage, “Game of Thrones”
Jared Harris, “Mad Men” (You know why.)

Supporting Actress, Drama Series
Anna Gunn, “Breaking Bad”
Maggie Smith, “Downton Abbey” (Yes, again. Second year in a row, different role. She’s Maggie Fu**ing Smith.)
Joanne Froggatt, “Downton Abbey”
Archie Panjabi, “The Good Wife”
Christina Hendricks, “Mad Men”

Best Miniseries or Movie
“American Horror Story”
“Game Change”
“Hatfields & McCoys”
“Hemingway & Gellhorn”
“Luther”
“Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia (Masterpiece)”

Best Actor in a Miniseries or Movie
Kevin Costner, “Hatfields & McCoys”
Benedict Cumberbatch, “Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia (Masterpiece)” (His scarf deserves its own Emmy.)
Idris Elba, “Luther”
Woody Harrelson, “Game Change”
Clive Owen, “Hemingway & Gellhorn”
Bill Paxton, “Hatfields & McCoys”

Supporting Actor, Miniseries or Movie
Denis O’Hare, “American Horror Story”
Ed Harris, “Game Change”
Tom Berenger, “Hatfields & McCoys”
David Strathairn, “Hemingway & Gellhorn”
Martin Freeman, “Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia (Masterpiece)” (This miiight be wishful thinking on my part, all this Sherlock.)

Children’s Program (These… these are the best live action shows we have to offer to kids? Jeez… no picks from me.)
“Degrassi”
“Good Luck Charlie”
“iCarly”
“”Victorious”
“Wizards Of Waverly Place”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    July 19, 2012 3:41 pm

    I like Mad Men. Really, I do. I’m sure at some point I’ll actually get around to watching the last season, but it’s so slow and dull that it’s just not worth it to watch week-to-week. I wait a few months after it’s done, force myself to marathon it, and go “Oh, I remember why I like it now.” But the other 90% of the time, all the critics love for the show annoys me to tears.

    There’s no way it deserves to win over Breaking Bad. No way. No no no no no no no no no no no no. Not after that LAST season.

    Breaking Bad is exciting. Gripping. Terrifying. Hilarious. And intense.

    Mad Men is something you watch before bed to help you get to sleep.

    The only thing that happened all season that even sounds interesting is what happened to Joan and Pryce. Hell, even Game of Thrones or Homeland (which is FANTASTIC, and I think Claire Danes is the strongest contender for the Best Actress slot because of it) are more deserving, I find.

    • July 19, 2012 4:59 pm

      This last season of Mad Man was AMAZING. Much more exciting than past seasons. And I’m not caught up in Breaking Bad yet!! Fingers in ears, lalala!

Leave a Reply

