Skip to content

New York Comic Con with Boba Fett Chicken and Kevin Smith (pics!)

October 15, 2011

I have seen Wonder Woman holding hands and laughing with Inuyasha. I have seen Classic Voltron posing near Formal-wear Storm Trooper posing near Sexy Companion Cube. I have seen more Dark Knight Jokers in one building than I have since Halloween 2008. I have seen Superman logos on more shirts, skirts, knee-high socks, corsets, headbands, and pajama onesies than I can count. I have seen between ten and twenty fake Silent Bobs, while waiting in line to see the real Kevin Smith. Reportedly in the men’s room, I missed seeing Gumby standing at the urinal next to Spiderman.

For I have been to NY Comic Con 2011. I have breathed the same air as some of the most enthusiastic comic book, graphic novel, video game, anime, movie, and television geeks and nerds the world over. I have been lost inside the glorious glass behemoth known as the Javits Center.

But most importantly, I have seen Boba Fett Chicken:

As at any convention encouraging cosplay, there was every good and bad combination of polyester, polyurethane, and spandex-nylon blends imaginable. But, Family Guy fans or not, everyone loved Boba Fett Chicken. Shortly thereafter, I appropriately saw a man donning “I have a Boba-Fettish” panties on the outside of his pants, probably purchased at Her Universe.

One of the many fine booths with a plethora of geek goodies for sale.

The big event at the Javitz Center’s IGN theater Friday night was the Kevin Smith and Jason Mewes live recording of their podcast Jay & Silent Bob Get Old.

The NSFW show discussed their love of comic books, Jason Mewes creepy people-watching tendencies, and ended with a Batman-themed sketch game. While not yet available in full form on the podcast’s site, video excerpts from the event are available on youtube.

The largest popular culture convention on the East Coast, New York Comic Con began on October 13th and will be continuing through Sunday the 16th. MTV Geek has more excellent exclusive videos and interviews. Visit the official Comic Con website at http://www.newyorkcomiccon.com/ for a complete list of exhibitions and vendors.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. John R. permalink
    October 17, 2011 12:32 am

    Just wanted to say thanks for the kind words on my Chicken Fett costume! I’m surprised how well it was received! Looking forward to dOing it all over again next year.

  2. December 20, 2011 10:09 am

    Hey, great post!
    I wanted to write you to let you know that I nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award!
    Check it out
    http://reasonswhyimstillsingle.wordpress.com/2011/12/20/they-read-me-they-really-read-me/
    P.S. I swear, this is NOT spam
    PPS Do you think artificial intelligence has gotten smart enough that it knows how to say that it’s not spam? I hope not…

    • scandalousmuffin permalink
      December 20, 2011 11:05 am

      Haha, thank you. Spambots are getting pretty clever. But I can still distinguish between a post like yours and, “Oh yes, nice blog is very nice. Please check out my sketchy tinyURL hyperlink.”

Trackbacks

  1. Comic-Con NY Teaser « Clantily Scad: The Dyslexistentialist Musings of a Misanthropic Twat
  2. New York Comic Con Commentary and Pics « Clantily Scad: The Dyslexistentialist Musings of a Misanthropic Twat

Leave a Reply

