Skip to content

Some Sneaky Spider-Suit Set Shots

January 31, 2011

Moar pics from the Spidey-Set have emerged. And here they are.

I don’t know. There’s something I just don’t like about the costume.

The shoes, the gloves, the size of the eyes in proportion to his head… it doesn’t jive with me, and I can’t really pinpoint why. It’s like trying to explain why you don’t like a certain food. You just don’t like the taste of it or the way it feels in your mouth.

I don’t want to be that nerdhole who just nitpicks every detail in the costume and how it’s different from the original. After all, I totally dig the very different Captain America costume. It’s very Spider-Man 2099, and it’s definitely trying hard to make itself distinctive and different from previous incarnations. But… it tastes funny. On my eyes.

Now have a video.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    January 31, 2011 3:37 pm

    I don’t have a problem with the eyepieces. Those look fine to me. Good size, right shape, not too huge and exaggerated.

    But yes. Too many little things that are just… ‘Off’ with the rest of it. I don’t enjoy the hightop sneaker look for his boots. The gloves, with the blue on the fingers, doesn’t look right. And all the lines… So many lines! I dislike how they’re inadvertently emphasizing his buttcrack.

  2. January 31, 2011 5:30 pm

    I like the gloves, sorta reminds me of Ultimate or 2099 (or whatever space Spider-man name it had). I didn’t have problems with the boots until you pointed them out…kinda ‘ice-skater meets Santa’s elves’ look that does seem out of place. But the main nagging bit for me is the headmask, if not for it’s configuration, but color saturation. The whole thing screams Asian 80’s Spider-man live action movie to me. They could replace the actor inside with the “Hard Gay” guy from Japan and I think he’d have identical mannerisms based on the still shots above.

    The shot of the actor without the mask was way better than with it on. No likey >.<

Trackbacks

  1. So here’s some Spider-Man pics, I guess. « The Feminine Miss Geek

Leave a Reply

