Skip to content

Books n’ Booze

January 5, 2011

I don’t like bars. I don’t really drink, the music is loud, and I get super bored when there is nothing to do but make awkward small talk. I only head out to the neighborhood pub on knitting night, and last time there was a sportsball game on with loud enthusiastic fans that had me scurrying back to the quiet comfort of home. Yes, there is always the coffee houses, but in a drinking town like Cleveland, evenings often leave these cafes empty.

One solution is to move to LA, and visit a few of the library bars that seem to be popping up all over the place there.

The Wellesbourne

Library Bar

Yes, I suppose I could just work on opening one up here… I’m always asking myself where to meet the nerdy boys, and this could be the place. Via Styleture.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 2:35 pm

    That’s awesome! My city’s probably too…erm, okay, redneck, to appreciate those types of bars. But I could live in that room for days!

    • January 7, 2011 12:20 pm

      I know, right? You just want to move in.

  2. Christine permalink
    January 5, 2011 9:20 pm

    Those are brilliant! I actually have a bar/bookstore about 10 miles from me, but absolutely nowhere near as nice as those. I went in once. Just once, that was enough.

    • Encrazed Crafts permalink
      January 6, 2011 6:14 am

      Oooh, just once was all you needed? Does not bode well for the repeat customers hee hee

      The only thing similar to this sort of a shop I have seen was a sideways cafe, built to look like a library but on it’s side. Book-like images covered a wall and they had lamps jutting out of a side wall instead of the ceiling to reinforce the sideways look and feel of the place. The books were all just wallpaper, of course, but it looks pretty neat. Wonder if the place imitating a bar like this would make more than the actual ‘libarary’ itself.

      • Christine permalink
        January 6, 2011 5:30 pm

        That sounds very cool! I would love to see something like that.

      • January 7, 2011 12:20 pm

        That sounds REALLY cool. The closest I can think of here is a neat used bookstore connected through a little doorway to a fantastic restaurant in the hippie area of Cleveland. It was there I first had hummus and it began a lifelong obsession…

  3. January 6, 2011 12:04 am

    That is absolutely brilliant! I’ve always wanted to start a bookstore, but sadly privately-owned and now even the big-box bookstores are quickly dying nowadays… Maybe I should start one of these instead… Its absolute genius!

    • January 7, 2011 12:20 pm

      Do it do it do it!

  4. January 7, 2011 12:13 pm

    I wonder if they also serve coffee just in case too much alcohol is drank. I don’t read to well when I am tipsy.

    I wonder if pipe smoking is allowed. I want the whole CS Lewis experience 🙂

    • January 7, 2011 12:17 pm

      I’m sure coffee is served, for the simple reason that it is awesome.

      As for pipes, I doubt it. But that would be hella awesome. Sitting around the fire with brandy, pipes, monocles, and pocket watches, discussing great works of literature and Nathan Fillions’ ass.

Trackbacks

  1. Dummies of the Year! Weekly Wrap

Leave a Reply

