Skip to content

Geek Girls Unite Against Bullying!

November 19, 2010

This adorable bundle of awesome is named Katie. Katie is a sweet first-grader from Chicago who loves Star Wars. At the beginning of the school year, she picked out a Star Wars backpack and matching water bottle for her lunches.

One day out of the blue, Katie told her mom that she wanted a pink water bottle. Mom Carrie Goldman, a blogger for Chicago Now, thought this was odd, and had to ask Katie a few times what the real reason for her sudden pink preference was.

Suddenly, Katie burst into tears.

She wailed, “The first grade boys are teasing me at lunch because I have a Star Wars water bottle.  They say it’s only for boys.  Every day they make fun of me for drinking out of it.  I want them to stop, so I’ll just bring a pink water bottle.”

I hugged her hard and felt my heart sink.  Such a tender young age, and already she is embarrassed about the water bottle that brought her so much excitement and joy a few months ago.

After talking to her daughter about it, Carrie put out the call to the geek girls of the internet.

I would love to be able to show Katie that she is not alone, that other females appreciate Star Wars.  If there are any female Star Wars fans reading this, please feel free to show your support for Katie.  I will let her read your messages or comments, and I think she will be surprised by what I suspect is a vast number of female fans.

Katie has since gone viral. She’s all over the Twitterverse (#MayTheForceBeWithKatie)  and has even made it to the official Star Wars Blog. Geeks from all over the world, women and men, have trumpeted their love for Star Wars, and that it is for absolutely everyone. Carrie has been reading the comments and posts to Katie, and they have had her grinning. And, more importantly,  they have boosted her confidence.

According to Mom, Katie proudly wore her Star Wars shirt to school yesterday.

Show your support for Katie by tweeting or leaving  a post on Mom’s blog. I am so crazy proud of all of you, this little girl’s life has been changed for the better forever.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 7:26 pm

    Good for Katie and her mother. Believing Star Wars is exclusively for boys is asinine – doesn’t the franchise feature strong, heroic women also? I was criticized by classmates for liking Jem and the Holograms when I was a kid and I still love that cartoon. Never have I seen so many felonies (committed by Jem’s rivals: The Misfits) go unpunished than on that series. =)

Trackbacks

  1. Toys for girls and boys and chimpanzees. « The Feminine Miss Geek

Leave a Reply

