Skip to content

Get yo’ glasses on!

November 3, 2010

If there is a single accessory that could define what a geek is, it’s glasses. Geeks and glasses go together like spaghetti and meatballs. Hours spent staring at monitors or books has left us permanently damaged. Sure, you could get contacts, but those are a pain. Embrace your geekery and decorate your face.

But glasses can be expensive. You usually just have one daily pair and an old backup. Maybe prescription sunglasses if you’ve got some extra scratch.

If you don’t, allow me to direct you to Zenni Optical.

Here’s what you do. Next time you go to the eye doctor, get out of there before they sit you down to order glasses. Ask for your prescription, see if they are willing to measure your pupilary distance, then skidaddle. Waste of money. Pick out a few pairs from Zenni’s HUGE selection, plug in your eyeball info, and await your new glasses.

The quality isn’t all that great, but I grew up with glasses and it was hammered into me that I take care of them. One pair I left in the case in my car on a hot day, and the plastic of one of the arms warped in the heat, rendering them unwearable. Another pair broke at the hinge after about 4 months of wear. But I’ve bought 8 pairs from them now in a wide variety of styles, and those were the only instances of breakage. Again, all you have to do is take care of them like you would any prescription pair.

Another downside is the inability to try them on. Myself, I was playing in Photoshop, cutting and pasting various frames onto my face. Since then, the site has updated with the ability to do this yourself right on the website. I had a couple pairs come in that I ended up not liking on my face, and they’re now in a bathroom drawer as my emergency pairs.

In fact, the latest updates has made the site incredibly easy to navigate an tons of fun to poke around. It’s also fun to buy a pair of adventurous glasses, ones you’ve always wanted to try but were too afraid to. I’ve got a pair that are bright red, another a brilliant purple that I wear all the time, depending on my outfit. It turned out to be a lot of fun to experiment, even with a couple misses. Also, they offer prescription sunglasses for a minimal fee!

In closing, I highly recommend Zenni Optical for your ocular needs.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Yami permalink
    November 5, 2010 1:04 am

    I wish I needed glasses. I think they tend to look really cute. Sometimes flat-out sexy. ^_^

Leave a Reply

