Skip to content

Cusack is back again, this time as Edgar Allan Poe.

August 29, 2010

With some styling, I can totally see it.

(Also, sorry for my absence; things are crazy around here as we get ready to move.  We also got an adorable new kitty who has a few health issues–nothing serious, though!)

John Cusack, who is intimately involved in his social network, announced it recently on his Twitter:  “officiali- will play edgar allen poe in fall-a-film called the raven, send any poe- gold – my way as i begin this journey into the abyss.”  The film is the latest film by James McTeigue, who cut his directorial teeth on V for Vendetta (2006) and Ninja Assassins (2009).  The film is called simply The Raven, but it’s not based on Poe’s poem of the same name; rather, it’s a fictionalized account of the mysterious end of Poe’s life which suggests that Edgar Allan was tracking down a serial killer who was basing his (or her) crimes on Poe’s work.  Poe died in actuality after having been found wandering the streets of Baltimore in an incoherent daze; no one is quite certain as to what happened to lead to him being found in such a state (my vote is a little green faerie called absinthe).  To add to the literary geekiness, the script is written by Ben Livingston and Hannah Shakespeare.  Okay, well, the Shakespeare bit is literary, anyway.

Poe as a crime-fighter?  I’m of the opinion that this could be really badass or really disastrous.  I also feel like this is kind of a tired scenario; life literally imitating art, driving said artist mad.  I know I’ve seen it before, probably on something like Law and Order, or I’ve read it in detective fiction (I’m a sucker for a good crime novel); I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I know it’s been done.  Here’s wishing you the best, McTeigue, that you can pull this out and make it fresh and happening and new.

For those of you who lust after the geektastic details, I don’t have much–but there is a rumor, unsure of how credulous it is, that Ewan MacGregor is slated to be in this film, as well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

