Skip to content
5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 5:31 am

    A short while ago, I decided to defend my personal and demographic information on Facebook. I changed everything except my name and email address to fictional stuff. For example, I changed my alma mater to Miskatonic University (Class of 1919) and my childhood education received at Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends (Class of 1911). Also, my job/profession is that of “Freelance Time Traveling Antique Merchant”, since November of 1963, and the description for it is: “I travel back in time to find items for antique collectors, and I bring them their items in mint condition from the past. I do not work on Wednesdays, in any year.” I also change my geographic location every couple of weeks. My current location is set to Xinyang, China.

    It’s fun to do, actually. I don’t know why. lol

    • July 30, 2010 7:57 am

      That’s awesome 😀

  2. July 30, 2010 1:05 pm

    Oh, thank you! I’m tired of seeing those status updates, too! People need to take responsibility for their own crap, and stop laying it all on others. I love tsactuo’s idea about changing info. to fictional, but my family (which is about all that’s on my FB) would blow a gasket trying to figure out why I’m lying about stuff. Pfffff… Ah well.

    • July 30, 2010 2:09 pm

      I know!! It’s not like they send out the Facebook Census to find out if you really live at 1234 Smith Lane, people should be responsible for not putting in that info themselves 😀

  3. scandalousmuffin permalink
    August 2, 2010 10:24 pm

    Awesome rant. I totally agree. I remember once I got pissed about some vague words in the terms and usage agreement which technically allowed FB to use anyone’s pics for commercial purposes even if you deleted your account. But that was a couple years ago and they fixed that quick after media outrage.

    I’m curious about that movie about Mark Zuckerman that I’ve seen trailers for.

Leave a Reply

