Skip to content

Comic Con News Dump

July 26, 2010

Hey gang! While I didn’t go to SDCC because I’m broke in Ohio, but other people went and things happened. What things? These things.

io9.com reports they saw footage from the upcoming release of Captain America featuring the Red Skull, played by Hugo Weaving. And they gave us a picture of Hugo Weaving in full makeup!

Then there were the trailers released over the weekend. WordPress won’t allow me to post ’em here, so click on through to see an awesome computer animated The Goon, Robert Rodreiguez’ Red Band Machete trailer, a teaser for POTC: On Stranger Tides featuring Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow, a full trailer for Red, based on a Garth Ennis comic, and a trailer for Tron:Legacy, not to mention a few new clips from Scott Pilgrim vs. the World.

Comic Con goers were also treated to footage from Jon Faverau’s next flick Cowboys vs. Aliens, which reports are saying looks badass.

But the news everyone was waiting for was the cast of the Avengers. And here they are.

  • Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark
  • Clark Gregg as Agent Coulson
  • Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow
  • Chris Hemsworth as Thor
  • Chris Evans as Captain America
  • Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury
  • Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye
  • Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner / Incredible Hulk
  • Joss Whedon, Director
  • Nathan Fillion as Shafted Actor
  • Whooo is that on the end? Avi Arad?

So there it is! Hulk rumors can be put to rest. Not David Tennant, not an unknown, but Mark Ruffalo, a guy I apparently have seen in a dozen different roles but can’t remember or accurately judge on his ability to play the part. Help me out here? Anyhow, now we get to obsess over plot.

What was your favorite part of SDCC? What was your least? What news were you hoping to hear but didn’t? (Wonder Woman!!) Also… I want more pics, people who actually went to Comic Con.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 10:19 am

    I hear you re: broke in Ohio–I’m broke in Columbus 😀 I wish I’d gone to SDCC one of the years I actually lived in California!

    • July 26, 2010 12:36 pm

      But I’ll see you at MidOhioCon in November!

      • July 26, 2010 9:09 pm

        If I can convince my husband that he’ll have a good time, I might go on Saturday 😀 The convention center is a stone’s throw away from where I currently live.

Leave a Reply

