Skip to content

Top 10 Podcasts You Should Be Listening To

July 13, 2010
by

I was slow to jump on the iPod bandwagon. The only time I listen to music is when I’m driving, and my car came with a free radio built in. Why bother buying some little device just to play music?

Everything changed the moment I got my hands on an iPod Touch. A computer I could carry in my pocket! I was sold. But I was about to discover something more in this brand new technological world. The Podcast.

These days, my vast array of podcasts gets me through long car/plane rides, motivates me during my workout, and chats me to sleep at night. Here’s my list of Top 10 Podcasts that every geek girl should be listening to.


#10 Relic Radio Science Fiction

I’ve got a soft spot for everything vintage. Vintage fashion, cars, movies, and in this case, radio shows. Relic Radio has a variety of themed podcasts, and since this is the geek site, I’m featuring the Science Fiction show, which features classic episodes from old radio shows X Minus One, Space Patrol, Dimension X, and many others.

#9 Science Friday

Nerds love them some science. In this NPR call-in show rebroadcast, Ira Flatow finds a fascinating new topic every week, and interviews the experts. They cover a wide variety of interesting topics, such as chemistry, astronomy, genetics, and dinosaurs. It’s a captivating program, and you will learn something amazing.

#8 Today in the Past

Pulling fun (false) facts from his book, More Information Than You Require, John Hodgman gives you a daily nugget of info. Learn which Black Sabbath song Jefferson and Adams listened to as they died, and about how the sinking of the Titanic kicked off anti-iceberg sentiment in Europe, where they began investigating ways to produce global warming and rid the world of icebergs forever.

#7 Tech News Today

The latest and greatest tech news by a very bright and lively panel. Tom Merritt, Becky Worley, Sarah Lane, and guests take you through everything that happened that day and give you their thoughts and commentary. What’s more, these guys really know what they are talking about when it comes to the hottest techy topics.

#6 Current Geek

Tom and Scott geek out over whatever catches their attention every week, be it movies, video games, or the science of vuvuzelas. Just a couple of friends, BS-ing together and having fun. But it’s very intelligent BS-ing, and you’ll probably learn something while giggling along with them.

#5 Doug Loves Movies

Admittedly, Doug Benson is a comedian who’s more of a stoner than a nerd. Except for when it comes to movies. Doug is a movie nerd. Every show, he has an ever changing panel of comedians and celebrities to discuss, what else, movies. A hilarious podcast, the highlight of which is the Leonard Maltin Game: a mash-up of movie trivia and Name-That-Tune. And we’re still waiting for John Lithgow to show up.

#4 Radio Lab

A geek wants to broaden her horizons, and Radio Lab from WNYC is among the best way to take in some fascinating facts. Jad Abumrad and Robert Krulwich take you on a journey of intriguing interviews and stunning sound. This is the best edited radio show there is, hands down. Look for the Lucy the Chimpanzee episode, it will break your heart.

#3 The Nerdist

Comedian Chris Hardwick hosts this always fun and funny podcast. He’s  interviewed Stan Lee, Weird Al, the Muppets, and in my favorite episode so far: Adam Savage. Do not miss the Adam Savage episode. The single best podcast for a comedic take on geekery.

#2 Stuff Mom Never Told You

Molly and Cristen are so adorably dorky and I can’t get enough of them. One of the best of the How Stuff Works many podcasts, the ladies talk you through a wide variety of women’s topics. If you only listen to one of these awesome shows, I cheerfully direct you to the Poop Episode.

#1 Stuff You Should Know

If Mom Stuff is one of the best HSW Podcasts, it’s outshone only by the original Stuff You Should Know. Josh and Chuck always have me laughing out loud, brilliantly covering such topics as urban planning, quicksand, serial killers, and robot marriage.

image source

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 3:03 pm

    As a geek and also as a sometimes contributor, I have to give a nod to the SofaDogs podcast that my friend John Pavlich does. ( http://sofadogs.libsyn.com ) These podcasts also sound awesome though!

  2. July 14, 2010 4:51 pm

    Thankssssssssssssssssssssss

  3. September 14, 2010 3:33 pm

    I love the Radio Lab podcasts and the other suggestions sound great too. Thanks much for sharing!

  4. February 5, 2011 1:15 pm

    I stumbled upon your post while searching for other geeky podcasts to listen to. Since you seem to have a similar taste in podcasts to my own, I’d be curious to hear your impression of mine. If you’d like to give it a shot, you can listen to The Geek Generation Podcast here: http://www.thegeekgeneration.com/category/podcast/

Trackbacks

  1. Top 10 Podcasts You Should Be Listening To (via The Feminine Miss Geek) « Chicago Mac/PC Support
  2. The Nerdist on TV « The Feminine Miss Geek

Leave a Reply

