Skip to content

My favorite sitcoms + hello to TFMG!

July 10, 2010

Hello! It’s nice to be here. I hope to be here more often, as long as it doesn’t interfere with my regular schedule of World of Warcraft and Facebook.

I was writing recently about sitcoms and I’ve been thinking about my all-time favorites. So much of what you love, of course, is determined by what you were exposed to growing up; thanks to cable TV and Nick at Nite, I had a rather diverse exposure to sitcoms. I’m somewhat of a sitcom connoisseur, if you will. So I’ve made a list of my absolute, all-time favorites, in no particular order. (Which is not to say that I like them all equally, I just can’t pick an order.)

1. Roseanne

Roseanne

I may have been wrong when I said I wasn’t going to put them in order, although I’ll assume I was only wrong about this particular show. Roseanne has long been my very, very favorite sitcom, despite the fact that it went to hell after they won the lottery.

Why do I love Roseanne so much? The blue-collar, working-class humor is part of it; the characters being so real and relate-able is another part. The fact that it can make me laugh out loud still, despite having seen individual episodes more than five times each (that’s all of them, mind you). Plus, I just love Sara Gilbert. If I were a lesbian, I’d be all over that.


2. Absolutely Fabulous

AbFab

Growing up in redneck Kentucky, I didn’t encounter this show until I was in my early 20’s, which seems like a lifetime ago even though I’m not 30 yet. If you haven’t encountered it, either, Absolutely Fabulous (AbFab for short) is the story of an incredibly self-centered and fairly stupid woman and her incredibly self-centered and fairly stupid friend. They’re British, they drink a lot, and they’re counterbalanced by the rational, level-headed, nerdy daughter Saffron. And they’re a bloody riot. “Cheers, thanks a lot.”

The humor of AbFab is a bit madcap, which wouldn’t be my normal style if it weren’t Eddy and Patsy. Something about those two women makes me want to laugh until I pee myself.


3. Arrested Development

Arrested Development

The Bluth Family caught my attention right from the beginning. Everything about Arrested Development was new, crisp, smart, and funny. Wildly funny. Which is, I’m sure, why it got canceled.

I’m not even sure what happened with it–I keep hearing that they’re making new ones, they’ve made new ones, but I can never really find solid information. If you have links for me to Arrested Development information, please feel free to share this with me. I’m guessing they are not making anymore episodes, what with Michael Cera’s movie career taking off. Nobody would want to deprive the world of his ability to play an awkward guy in any situation.


4. The Andy Griffith Show

Barney and Ernest T Bass

This may be an ubernerdy show to add to my list, but I really can’t help it. I love The Andy Griffith Show. I love how excitable Barney is and how unsophisticated Ernest T. Bass is. I love how random people come down out of the mountains to play the guitar with Andy, and I love drunken ol’ Otis. As with many popular shows, it went on for so long that it fizzled in the end rather than having a satisfying closure. Since I didn’t grow up watching it new, this doesn’t bother me nearly as much, not having been emotionally invested in it for years and years only to be let down.

Despite my poking a bit of sarcastic fun at the musical mountain Darlings, I am a Kentucky girl and I did kind of dig the rare occasions of music on the show, most of which was bluegrass-type music or just Andy strumming his guitar. If you don’t remember the musical interludes, you can check out my favorite one here if you don’t mind bluegrass music. (If you don’t like that kind of music, I don’t want to hear how lame you think it is πŸ˜€ I warned you!)


5. Northern Exposure

Northern Exposure Cast

This is a series that gave me emotional torment when it ended. Not only because of the way it ended, but because I became emotionally dependent on having this show in my life. How would I survive without being able to turn on a new episode? Apparently, I did survive, but it was touch-and-go for awhile.

Until the disaster of the last season, everything about this show worked together beautifully. Everything was balanced, the characters were acting the way they were supposed to act, there was mounting romantic tension and other sorts of drama to balance out the humor. It was like Icarus, beautiful until it flew too close to the sun. Then it plummeted back to Earth in a ball of flames.


6. The Big Bang Theory

The Big Bang Theory

The Big Bang Theory is my most recent, and the only current, sitcom that I like. How can I not love a show that centers around a bunch of scientists and their nerdventures? Especially since not one, not two, but three of the actors from Roseanne are involved with the show? (Sara Gilbert, I love you!) I don’t even think of Johnny Galecki as David anymore, that’s how much I’m into TBBT.

This show has everything for the geek woman. Four nerdy guys, one of whom is bound to be your physical type (or, at worst, your second favorite); talk about Star Trek, comic books, video games, science, and other nerdy things; plus, snappy dialogue and Sheldon’s awesome t-shirts. (He’s mine, btw–any challengers will need to play Rock Paper Scissors Lizard Spock for him.)

So, these are my favorite sitcoms; honorable mentions go out to M*A*S*H, All in the Family, The Cosby Show, Coach, Malcolm in the Middle, Newhart, and The Golden Girls. What are your favorites? If anybody has the exact same list as me, let’s go out for pie πŸ™‚

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2010 10:10 pm

    Sheldon is mine! Oh, it’s ON! RockpaperscissorslizardSPOCK! Aaw… Spock draw. RockpaperscissorslizardSPOCK! Aaww…

    BTW, great article. Everyone welcome greengeekgirl aboard!!

  2. July 11, 2010 7:37 am

    I *guess* you can have Sheldon–I’m married to a nerd already, I don’t want to get greedy πŸ˜€

  3. scandalousmuffin permalink
    July 11, 2010 4:14 pm

    I was so sad when Arrested Development was canceled. Also, I need to watch more Big Bang Theory, because I love the juxtaposition of really smart and really dumb people.

    My list would definitely have 30 Rock on there too. Tina Fey is on my “I’d go gay for” list. (Hmm, post idea?)

    Also, hi GreenGeekGirl!

  4. July 12, 2010 10:26 am

    Hi scandalousmuffin!!

    I haven’t actually watched 30Rock, although I hear it’s good. I get so jaded that I wait until a show has been out for quite awhile before I dare to watch it πŸ˜€ it seems like security or something. “This will not be a one-season-wonder, it’s already been out for five!”

    • July 12, 2010 10:57 am

      We should make a list someday of shows axed before their time. And include ‘Pushing Daisies.’ Aaaand ‘Firefly.’

  5. July 12, 2010 11:14 pm

    I really liked Dead Like Me, and I want to go back in time to stop them from canceling it so I can have more of it.

Leave a Reply

