Skip to content

Blizzard Nerdnonymous

July 9, 2010
by

Oh dear. You’ve gone and pissed off your rabid addicted fans, Blizzard.

Blizzard’s new RealID system sounds great. Cross game chat, broadcast what you’re up to, see a list of all your friend’s characters. It’s Facebooking Blizzard, more or less. Unfortunately, there is one more feature that has users understandably pissed: real names.

In order to use all the features of RealID, users must submit their real name. For this the community is mad as hell, and I gotta say I am on their side.

As a female gamer, I have to put up with some shit. Often times on voice chat, I’m asked if I’m a kid or a girl. I usually respond with, “Whichever would earn me more respect.” I’ve been hit on, harassed, insulted, kicked out, ignored. Half the time I hide the fact that I’m a lady to avoid all this. I don’t want jerk gamers getting my real name. Lord knows what they’ll do if, through the power of the internet, they can use that information to find out what I look like and where I live. It’s like giving your real name to /b/ for crying out loud.

Luckily, RealID is voluntary. You’ll miss out on all the cool features to connect with friends, though.And I’m sure there are security measures in place that no one can see your information without your permission. But the moment you tick off someone in your guild for any minor reason… holy hell, it will be ugly.

As for me, I don’t play Warcraft all that much anymore. I’m a Valve gal now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2010 4:10 am

    What is ‘Valve’?

    • July 10, 2010 11:05 am

      Valve is a software company. The made Portal, L4D, and Team Fortress 2.

  2. July 10, 2010 11:24 am

    Well, as someone who still does play WoW, I can say that RealID isn’t as terrible as they are making it out to be 😀 You can still befriend someone as a character name or as their e-mail address; if someone doesn’t have your e-mail, they can’t friend you with RealID, just your character name. So your guildmates won’t find out unless you specifically friend them via RealID 😀

    What I think is really interesting is that Blizzard is making it so that your real name shows on the forums. They’re hoping it will cut down on flame wars, trolling, etc, since people won’t be “anonymous” anymore. Of course, they can go troll other WoW-related forums anonymously, but I think that’s going to be a nice help for Blizzard getting information with fewer trolls to wade through.

  3. July 12, 2010 7:38 pm

    Belay that about the forums–they’ve cancelled that. I knew they wouldn’t show any spine. 😀

Leave a Reply

