Skip to content

Top 5 Doctor Who Episodes of Series 5

July 8, 2010

Once upon a time, there was a girl who loved a television show called Doctor Who. A man named David Tennant played the role of the Doctor, and a man named Russell T. Davies wrote a lot of the episodes of the television show. The television show was wonderful and marvelous and magical and the girl was happy. Once day, the man who played the Doctor and the man who wrote for the Doctor decided to leave and never return, and the girl was sad, for no one could ever be as good as her Doctor was, especially not that Matt Smith fellow. He looked like someone stretched silly putty over a deflated basketball. But she watched the new Doctor just the same.

And he was the best Doctor ever. So much better than that brooding (though handsome) David Tennant and that godawful Mary-Sue loving Russell T. Davies. It was the best season of Doctor Who ever created, and the girl was overjoyed.

If you aren’t watching the new season of Doctor Who, for shame. If you’ve never ever seen Doctor Who? Now is the time to start. While Series 5 is over in the UK and BBC America is slowly catching up, we’re going to look back on our Top 5 Favorite episodes of the new season. Is it Christmas yet?

SPOILERS BELOW! GERONIMO!!!


#5 Amy’s Choice

The first-rate introduction of the Dream Lord in this episode overshadows the lameness of the old people monsters. Toby Jones relishes his role as the Doctor’s dark side, and takes obvious joy in taunting our hero with lines like, “I’m surprised you haven’t got a little purple space dog, just to ram home what an intergalactic wag you are!” The story had us wondering along with the characters as to which was the genuine reality, and wondering if the Dream Lord was some incarnation of the dreaded Valyard. We definitely want to see more of Toby in Season Six. Amy’s Choice is easily among the funniest episodes of the new season, thanks in part to Rory’s hair.


#4 The Big Bang


The Big Bang was the big payoff. The final episode of the series, it had a lot to live up to after the brain smashing cliffhanger that preceded it. It ranks at number four only because it fell short of our admittedly unrealistically high expectations. Everything tied up a bit too neatly at the end, leaving us a bit confused but satisfied. While the ending was mildly disappointing, everything leading up to it was awesome. We got the treat of multiple Doctors hopping through time in both a top hat and fez, and a nod to Richard Dawkins. Rory was brilliant in this episode, and I can’t wait to see how both he and Amy do as the Doctor’s two companions next season. (Yay! Boy companion!)


#3 Vincent and the Doctor

This isn’t the first episode of Doctor Who that made me break into sobs, but it’s one of the best. Guest starring Tony Curran as Vincent Van Gogh, this episode tackles the difficult task of depicting the troubled artist and knocks it out of the park. Curran’s performance is what shines here, portraying Vincent’s crippling depression and enthusiastic love for his new friends. The Doctor finds someone who deserves to be saved, but who ultimately cannot. If you aren’t getting misty when Vincent travels to 2010 to see his work in the museum, you’d better get yourself checked to see if you’re an Auton. Bonus: Bill Nighy as the museum guide Dr. Black.


#2 Pandorica Opens

I don’t know about you, but at the end of this episode, I was screaming. We finally come to the grand finale, well. The first half, anyhow. It’s been an amazing season and it’s all coming to a head with episode twelve: The Pandorica Opens. From the shocking return of Rory to the arrival of every alien race that ever hated the Doctor, this was a cliffhanger that no one saw coming. Everything was a trap, and by the time this episode came to it’s jaw-dropping cliffhanger finish, the Doctor was locked away for eternity, Amy was dead, River Song was dead, the TARDIS exploded, and the universe ended. How do you come back from an ending like that?! The completion of this amazing episode had me scouring the internet for spoilers and wishing I lived in the UK so I could see the final episode sooner.


#1 The Eleventh Hour

Everyone was nervous. Nobody knew who this funny looking Matt Smith kid was. He was too young, everybody said. He could never be as good as David Tennant, everyone said. His companion was too young and sexy, and they were going to be all hip and sexy and romantic and everything was going to be awful. The Eleventh Hour showed us exactly how wrong we all were. The new Doctor was more alien and strange and funny and fun than his previous incarnation. His bizarrely hilarious interactions with the young Amelia set the tone for what was to come, and his final showdown with the giant eyeballs tipped a hat to what came before. “No TARDIS, no screwdriver,” and Matt Smith is undeniably the Doctor who still saves the day. Oh yes. Bow ties are cool.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 12:59 pm

    I still follow the Who masses and consider Baker the best Doctor. But, I still haven’t seen the latest Doctor (damn you, SyFy channel). So, I really should suspend judgment for now.

    Nope, still like Baker.

    • July 8, 2010 1:02 pm

      I’ve heard so many good things about Baker! I keep meaning to go back and watch the old Whos now that they are all available on Netflix streaming. Honest I will one of these days.

  2. Amanda permalink
    July 8, 2010 5:31 pm

    My favorite was Baker by far (followed closely by Davidson)… until David Tennant came onto the scene (though Christopher Eccleston is way under-rated and very nearly took the title from Baker too). And I was FLOORED. Completely FLABBERGASTED by how amazing and versatile he was. When he left I was devastated, and I nearly gave in to my despair and stopped watched Dr. Who altogether. I was so skeptical about Matt Smith… but he seriously surprised me. I was shocked. His insane rambling in The Eleventh Hour was spot on. However, I still maintain that David Tennant is the absolute best Doctor EVER. Period. Matt Smith is WAY better than I expected, and I am perfectly content with this regeneration, but there is simply no matching the brilliance that is David Tennant.

    Okay, done rambling now.

    • July 9, 2010 9:43 am

      I still have so much love for (and a crush on) Tennant. He was fantastic in the role as was Eccleston (my first Doctor.) But I still say Matt Smith is the Doctory-est of the three.

  3. melinageekly permalink
    July 9, 2010 12:06 pm

    Gahh, I love this show so much. I’m glad someone posted something like this, haha. I looooved Tennant as the Doctor and no one will do it quite like he did, but I have to say I’m really happy with Matt Smith. I agree when you say he is the Doctory-est out of them, cause that is so spot on, haha. Plus he’s such a cute 😉 Hehe.

  4. August 26, 2011 12:03 pm

    I am very much a Matt Smith convert, although it may be beacuse I love me some Amy Pond! Can’t WAIT for tomorrow… But remember when Captain Jack and Ecclestone kissed? HAWT! http://bit.ly/qnAGEH

    • August 26, 2011 12:06 pm

      We need Jack back in Who. Everything is better with a little Harkness.

  5. January 31, 2012 8:59 pm

    Great list! I agree with your selection here. My favorite doctor is also David Tennant, followed closely by Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker.

    Series 5 is my favorite season of new Who and Matt Smith was, without doubt, the right choice for the role.

  6. October 23, 2012 11:56 am

    When I went to London and saw the Sunflower painting by Van Gogh I looked really really hard to see if “For Amy” was in the corner 😉

Trackbacks

  1. I don’t know which has me more excited: Christmas or Doctor Who « The Feminine Miss Geek

Leave a Reply

