Skip to content

Who is Irene Adler?

August 3, 2011

Continuing the Anglophile news, it would appear that Irene Adler has been cast for Sherlock, Season Two. The actress to portray one of the only people to outwit Sherlock Holmes in the books is the lovely and talented Lara Pulver, of True Blood and Robin Hood.

While she’s been portrayed as a love interest for Holmes in various places, she was described in the books thusly:

To Sherlock Holmes she is always the woman. I have seldom heard him mention her under any other name. In his eyes she eclipses and predominates the whole of her sex. It was not that he felt any emotion akin to love for Irene Adler. All emotions, and that one particularly, were abhorrent to his cold, precise but admirably balanced mind. He was, I take it, the most perfect reasoning and observing machine that the world has seen, but as a lover he would have placed himself in a false position. He never spoke of the softer passions, save with a gibe and a sneer.

In the previous season of Sherlock, the titular character was as uninterested in romance as described above, calling the idea “dull,” and “not really my area.”

So no, I don’t think this Irene Adler is going to be a romantic foil for our hero in the updated version, but I do see him admiring her cunning and intelligence, seeing her as an equal who happens to be female. Me, I’m always happy to see a cunning and intelligent woman on TV, and I love me some Sherlock. Season Two is set to premiere in the UK in the fall.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2011 6:33 am

    Ah that’s just reminded me how much I loved Sherlock. I can’t wait for it to come back in the Autumn! I think she might be a bit of a love interest though. Was she Claudine in True Blood?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 591 other followers

